November 29, 2021

The World Stock Markets Tips & Targets, News, Views & Updates

The World Stock Markets Tips & Targets, News, Views & Updates

Google Chrome adds important data privacy feature with beta update

Google rolled out the Chrome 96 update to the public this week and along with that the company also released the beta update of Chrome 97. With the beta version, the tech giant has reconfigured the Privacy and Security settings related to data a site can store. This means that users can now delete all data stored by an individual site.
How to delete data stored by an individual site
Users can delete the data saved by a certain website by navigating to Settings > Privacy and Security > Site Settings > View permissions and data stored across files, where they’ll land on chrome://settings/content/all.
The company has also announced that it will remove the more granular controls from the menu. The ability to delete individual cookies will remain accessible for developers in DevTools. Users who’ll have the access can remove the cookies by navigating to Settings > Privacy and Security > Cookies and other site data > See all cookies and site data at chrome://settings/siteData from Settings.
“We believe that simplifying the granular controls from Settings creates a clearer experience for users. By providing users the ability to delete individual cookies, they can accidentally change the implementation details of the site and potentially break their experience on that site, which can be difficult to predict. Even more capable users run the risk of compromising some of their privacy protection, by incorrectly assuming the purpose of a cookie. “ wrote Google’s Theodore Olsauskas-Warren in a blog post.
WIth the latest Chrome update, the company has also stopped the sync feature for users who are still using browser’s version M48 or earlier. For those who don’t know, the Chrome sync feature on the browser stores your passwords, bookmarks, search history, open tabs and preferred settings on the company’s server. This feature helps you to access all the stored information across various devices by using the same Google account.

Share This :